Moe R Mahjoub, Ph.D.

Moe R Mahjoub, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Department of Medicine (Division of Nephrology)

Department of Cell Biology and Physiology

Tao Cheng, Ph.D.

Tao Cheng, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Fellow

Tao’s research is focused on understanding how centrosomal defects contribute to the development of cystic kidney diseases.

Maneesha Pandey, Ph.D.

Maneesha Pandey, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Fellow

Maneesha is characterizing the role of centriolar satellite proteins in regulating centrosome-cilia protein trafficking.

Ewa Langner, Ph.D.

Ewa Langner, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Fellow

Ewa is studying how mutations in centrosome proteins disrupt kidney development and cause fibrosis.

The lab over the years…

Former lab members: 

Rashmi Nanjundappa – Postdoctoral Fellow

Rashmi was focused on understanding the mechanisms that regulate centriole assembly and ciliogenesis in multiciliated cells. She recently accepted a position as Scientist at Bayer.

Megan Harvey – Post-bac Research Assistant 

Megan worked on pathways involved in trafficking of proteins to centrosomes and cilia in mammalian cells. She is now a graduate student in the laboratory of Dr. David Kast in the Department of Cell Biology at WUSTL.

Chidera Agwu – Post-bac Research Assistant 

Chidera helped to characterize how centrosome defects disrupt normal kidney development and cause cystic-fibrotic renal diseases. He is currently working as a research assistant and applying for Medical School.

Lai Kuan Dionne – Postdoctoral Fellow 

Lai Kuan’s project was focused on centrosome and midbody defects in Polycystic Kidney Disease. She is currently an Instructor in the Department of Cell Biology and Physiology at WUSTL.

Kyuhwan Shim – Staff Scientist 

Kyuhwan’s project was focused on understanding how defects in centrosome biogenesis impact kidney development . He is currently a Staff Scientist in the Division of Radiology at WUSTL.

Ewelina Betleja – Postdoctoral Fellow

Ewelina’s project was focused on understanding mechanisms that regulate centriole maturation in quiescent cells. She is currently a Senior Scientist at the Max-Planck Institute for Heart and Lung Research near Frankfurt, Germany.

Erica Silva

Erica helped to define the function of a new centriolar satellite protein, Ccdc11, in both motile and sensory-ciliated cells. She is currently finishing her MD-PhD studies as part of the MSTP program at University of California, San Diego.

Emily John

Emily examined the consequences of Ccdc11 mutation during zebrafish development. She moved on to medical school and is currently completing her residency.

Youssef Mohsen

Youssef was studying at the America University of Beirut, and spent a short period of time with us at WU. He helped to characterize centrosomal defects in patients with polycystic kidney disease. He is currently practicing medicine in Lebanon.

Graduate rotation students (2012 – current)

Mary Mathyer, John Dean, Gina Castelvecchi, Won Kyun Koh, Sarah Clippinger, Jennysue Kasiah